Reflections in the New Year

Well, it’s 2014 and I’m pretty excited to get this year underway. 2013 was an interesting year, it seemed to have more ups and downs than most years for my family. The biggest thing about 2013 was that my mother-in-law was diagnosed with Stage III inoperable melanoma very early in the year, so that was always in the back of our mind. Things looked pretty bleak at the beginning of the year, but I’m happy to say that after much prayer and an experimental treatment, her cancer is 100% gone! It truly is a miracle and we couldn’t be happier about it!

Other notable things about 2013? I started a new job, finished my Master’s degree, became more informed about politics and the goings on of the country, and became ever so slightly more bold in stating my opinions even when I knew it was going to cause a stir with certain people.

So, what’s on the table for 2014? I don’t know yet, but I know that it’s going to be filled with God’s blessings! My church (Valley Christian Church¬†[and by “my” I just mean the church I’m a member of]) finished the year with a great message about New Year’s Resolutions and why they often fail and how we can help them stick. It was titled “Dream Big, Start Small” and I’m going to try and take it to heart. This year, I’d really like to start some sort of a workout routine and eat better, so I’m going to try to do something physical at least a few times a week, to start.

I’d also love to change the way I speak. One of my biggest flaws is that I have a horrible mouth. When I became a Christian, I stopped using the lord’s name in vain pretty easily (I almost never drop the G-D bomb or say Jesus Christ as a curse word; on the few occasions that I have in the past 5 or so years, I’ve repented of it immediately), but pretty much all other words are still fair game for me. It’s so commonplace for me to swear that it doesn’t even really affect me anymore, but I’ve been feeling called to stop it ever since I started conversing with Christian friends on a fairly regular basis. I hate leaving a conversation with my pastor and thinking, “wait, did I swear during that conversation?”

Finally, for this blog, I’d really like to post somewhat regularly on here. In the past, when I start a blog, I’m good for a post or two and then I just forget about it. In keeping with the “Dream Big, Start Small” theme, I’m going to try and do 1-2 fairly lengthy posts per month on here. I may post a small thing here or there as well, but the goal is 1-2 a month. We’ll see how I do.

I’ll end with a little list because I like those….Recently I’ve been going through the albums that came out in 2013 so that I can make a best-of list, so I thought I’d post the Christian albums that are going to make the list.

In no particular order, my favorite Christian albums of 2013 are:

Listener – ¬†Time is a Machine (I LOVE this band. You might not, though. They’re a spoken word band, so they’re not for everyone, but I cannot get enough of them)

Dustin Kensrue – The Water and the Blood

Rend Collective Experiment – Campfire

Ghost Ship – The Good King

Citizens – Citizens

My Epic – Behold (I haven’t spent enough time with this yet, but I’m really enjoying it so far)

 

Leave a Reply

